Hey there!!! So I realize it has been almost a month since I last posted...sorry!!! Life is sooo busy right now!! I am ok with it though considering that a few months ago I was laying around with nothing to do....I actually like being busy. Everything has been going so well...I saw my surgeon about two weeks ago, and he said that my levels are all starting to come back to normal. I got my medication upped for my thyroid hormones (that is a good thing) and I dont go back to the endocrineologist until JANUARY!!! Yay!!! I do have to go back to my surgeon on Oct 27th though and get more blood drawn to make sure that my parathyroid really is coming back to normal. Your parathyroid is what makes your calcium and magnesium levels stay stable in your body....I am still on tums 3x a day, and have a prescription vitamin D pill and take a magnesium supplement everyday..He literally had to take my parathyroid out and put it back in so its taking some time to repair itself. Kinda weird...but as long as I am ok and my body is recovering then good deal!
Last night Matt and I went to a wedding where we saw allllll of my mom's old nurse friends that I grew up seeing and knowing. It was so cool to see everyone, but they kept asking me how I was feeling and all that stuff...I was thinking oh Im great, but I forgot they were talking about my thyroid cancer...I just cant believe how long ago it seems!!! I still think its weird to say that I had cancer, but I also know how much of a tremendous feat it is...such a blessing that we are done with that chapter of my life. It has made me stronger!
So on another note, my Montessori classes are going well.....except one thing. My teacher (who is AMAZING!) called me yesterday and asked if I was still planning on missing a day in October..I said yes because I am the maid of honor in my cousin's wedding..I told the Montessori teachers about this in April and they told me then that it wouldnt be a problem...you are allowed to miss 3 days..no more than that...if you miss more than 3 days even if i were to miss 3 days and be late for a class I would get kicked out...Well I knew all of this going into the program and was so ready to get my classes and start everything....Well who knew back in April that I was going to have cancer...thankfully with the way the surgery was and the schedule I only had to miss ONE class through the whole program! I told my teacher this and everyone was very supportive..I had all my work done early and got A's in both of my summer classes....Well I was talking to my teacher again about the wedding and reminding her that it was coming up and I would like to turn all my work that is due that day early..she was supportive and asked how many days I had missed already..I told her one, and the wedding would be my second..she was ok with that..Well when she called me last night to double check about me missing in OCt..she told me that I had already missed 2.2 days..meaning 2 days and 2 hours...UM NO! I only missed one day and I have all of my notes with dates on them to prove it...she told me she would call her supervisor and get back to me about that....well I still have not gotten a phone call and I am super stressed about this...because of course I cant miss the wedding, and if they do say that I have 2.2 absences then missing for the wedding will get me kicked out....SO ANNOYING! I am totally going to fight this because I know for a fact that I have only missed one day! I was late one day because some lady ran into me at a red light, but even then there was no damage and I was only a half hour late!! I am just praying that all of this gets worked out quick because I have been through way too much and have worked way too hard to jsut get kicked out cause they cant get their ppl or hours straight. GRRRR!! sorry if that last whole thing was very confusing, I am just kinda writing out my frustrations.
Matt is still super busy with school, he is usually there from 8am to about 8pm, so when I do get to see him, we usually just lounge around. We have been trying to go golfing again or just go to the driving range, but its been too hot and too hard with our schedules. We did have a lot of fun at the wedding last night, its rare when he gets a Friday or Saturday night off of work :) Speaking of it being too hot to go golfing, what is this?!?! its October 3rd and its still in the 100's! I so cannot wait for Minnesota!! I saw on the weather channel yesterday that they were under a frost/freeze warning last night...that gets me super excited!! I love the cold weather! I just wish it were cold enough here to actually enjoy the things that fall has to offer..I plan on making homeade chili in the crock pot on Tuesday because its actually going to be in the 80's. So sad that we think the 80's is cool.
Well I guess that is it for now..I dont really have many other updates, I hope that everyone is enjoying October so far! Have a happy Sunday!
Love- Em