Thursday, August 25, 2011

School Days...

Well here we are again! I am really impressed with myself this time around, because I am blogging two times in one month. That is totally rare, and shocking because I have been so consumed by my new teaching job. I never thought it would be this hard to be a teacher. I mean I knew it was hard, and I have watched others do it, but when I stepped into this position, I had no idea I would be tossing and turning at night thinking about my kids, the classroom, and the lessons I am giving them. It literally consumes my thoughts 24/7. Dont get me wrong, I absolutely love what I am doing, but I just had no idea what I was in for!
Lets start off with the first day of school....it literally came up so fast, and now it feels like forever ago. I thought I was prepared, I went through every little thing in my classroom and had a procedure or rule for it (so I thought). The first day, I showed up to work at 7am *the kids dont start until 8:20am. I was up all night, and ready for the little guys to come! Turns out I had duty the first day out front for parent drop off....umm I felt like an ass out there because I had no idea what to do, and what the norms were at the school for drop off procedures..no big deal...that was pretty successful, and the other teachers knew I was new....
Then,
The BELL RANG. Shit. I have to go get them now.....and I have to keep them busy and happy for 6 hours....
I walked to the kindergarten playground and had them line up with me. I had no kids crying, and everyone was excited! The parents were awesome and said good-bye right away. We sat around and waited for the other kinder classes to go in. My angels were sooooo quiet and good! We got inside, and remember when I said I had a procedure for everything? Nope. I forgot about backpacks and lunch boxes. How stupid! I quickly cleared a shelf for the lunch boxes, and told them to hang their backpacks on their hooks, then go find their name tags at circle time....ahhhh I was freaking out! We already missed the pledge and announcements by waiting outside for so long, what the heck now?!
I did a morning song, name game, the usual. We went over rules, and all that fun stuff the whole day. Before I knew it, it was over. Crap, I did it?! We actually got stuff done, and they followed the rules, and they listened and we practiced lining up, and I got them home safely?


Here we are now in the 3rd, almost 4th, week of school. My kids know the routine, they work hard, and I constantly get compliments from the librarian, and people in the hallway. I cant believe my luck with my class! I have a GREAT class! They listen, with the exception of a few outbursts from some, and they can walk in a straight line and turn off their voices in the hallway. They are respectful and just plain wonderful! The best part? They tell me they love me everyday. I must be doing something right. One little girl told me today that she is going to be the best student so she can help me to be a great teacher. (they know I am new) They constantly look to me at assemblies, P.E.,  and at the Library when I come to pick them up...they want to make sure I am there. They check to know that I am there. That is the best feeling to know that they NEED me there. They want me to teach them. I cant even begin to describe the other feelings I have about my job, but it is awesome. It may be hard, and I may work 24/7, but I would not have it any other way. These kids are the best thing and they can turn a bad morning (coffee spilling in my cup holder, no gas, etc.) into an awesome day!


Matt has been so supportive through all of this as well. He has been working really hard for the show and he started school again. He is only taking a few classes this semester, but he is almost done! So exciting! We are also moving this weekend. So hard to think about when I have my kids to think about too...but it will be worth it to be in a bigger place. I am actually really excited to start decorating for fall, and getting my fall candles out :) I will have more room for decorations too! 
As the year goes on, I will add more blogs about my crazy first year of teaching, our wedding plans, and life in general. As for now, my hands hurt, and I am tired! 


Happy Thursday everyone!
Em

Thursday, August 4, 2011

Changes

Wow, it feels like forever since my last blog....maybe because it was about two months ago? Well, a lot has happened this summer! So many amazing changes and things have been going on for Matt and I, so excuse me while I ramble on about life...
First off, we are ENGAGED!!!!! :) I am sure most of you that actually read my blog, know this already. I am beyond excited! Every summer since Matt and I have been together (which will be 3 years this September) we have gone to San Diego in July. It has become our little tradition, that we look forward to every year, and we wont be changing it anytime soon! Well this year, Matt had something up his sleeve...He asked me at sunset our 3rd night there..we had just gotten back from a really good dinner in Old Town, and Matt asked if I wanted to go walk down to the water and just hang out. Of course! My parents went on their own walk, and Matt and I walked down to the beach. We got there around 7:15...I remember this because Matt kept saying, "I hope the sunset happens soon!" haha and I kept saying, "babe, its San Diego, the sun doesnt go down until 8 or so..." I dont think he really believed me...because we stayed out on the beach until after the sunset...which to me felt like forever because I had no idea what was going on, I thought we were just farting around and hanging out....I was happy and content, but didnt really care about the sunset because I have seen the sunset on the beach about 20,000 times...so he basically had to keep me occupied and walking so that I wouldnt try to go back to the beach house....anyways, we walked to the lifeguard tower (#11) and sat in front of it and just talked and laughed....these kids came running up to it and started climbing all over it, so Matt asked if I wanted to move....I said I didnt care, and we moved anyway....we were sitting down in the sand, and I laid down on his lap...we just sat and talked and watched the sun finally go down into the water....He started saying things to me like "I love you babe" and "you are my world" which I would reply with "I know babe, I love you too!" typical response because we tell each other this everyday...well, the next thing I knew he reached in his pocket and pulled out the ring box! He set it right in front of me, opened it, and asked me to marry him! I looked at him and said..."What did you do?!" haha I was totally surprised, and of course said yes!!! The whole situation was totally us, and I wouldnt have it any other way! After that, we walked back to the beach house and told my parents...my dad knew the whole time, but my mom had NO IDEA!  She was just as excited as I was! We started calling family and spreading the news! It was so awesome to be able to share that with everyone in our families....Everyone knew but me, obviously lol. With that being said, we have talked about some wedding details, but not too much because we are both so busy with our jobs....we do know that the wedding will be on October 27th, 2012. I cannot wait to marry my best friend!
Another big thing that has happened this summer is the start of my new job...I am the new Kindergarten Montessori Teacher for Mesa Public Schools. The past week and a half has been nothing but setting up my classroom, meetings, and trainings. I have been pulling 10+ hour days, and I am so exhausted! On top of me working so hard at my school, Matt is in New Mexico for his TV show. We are both so blessed to be working in the career field that we went to school for. I am so excited to start teaching, but nervous at the same time. Things are so different when you are a lead teacher, vs.being the assistant. I have a lot more responsibility, and I literally have to write EVERYTHING down! Its crazy! I have never been so consumed by something, and I am having a blast! My classroom is pretty much all set up and ready to go..I still have a few things that I need to do, but overall, I think I am ready. Now I am stressing about my record keeping, lesson planning and assessments and DIBELS. All of my pre-assessments and first DIBELS are due in the 3rd week of school! I know once I get going and get comfortable, that I will be ok, but just the thought of all that scares the crap out of me!
On top of worrying about assessments and lesson plans, I have to make my first bulletin board outside of my classroom! Um excuse me, but I was the child in art class who would sit back and say "I cant" because I do not have one artistic bone in my body! My team is trying to theme our boards because they are all in the same hallway, so I at least have that going for me, but I started today, and I already know that I will have to take it down tomorrow....No clue what I am doing! Oh well, its all in good fun, and in the end its not about the bulletin boards, its about the kiddos in my class actually learning something from me! :)
That is another big fear, that my kids will not learn a single thing from me! I know it wont happen, but there are so many things that need to get done that I worry I wont be ready for them! School starts next Wednesday, so Ill let you know how that goes ;)
On top of all of the busy-ness going on in our lives, Matt and I are moving at the end of August...I am looking at the calendar and realizing that it is ALREADY August 4th! I dont remember August arriving.....Moving day will be here before we know it, and we wont even be packed! Life is super hectic right now, and I love it! I am excited for so many things that Matt and I are going to be going through together...I could not ask for anyone better to spend my life with....lots of love, and thanks for reading!
Em